Illinois Wrestling Freestyle State Championship Recap | Youth1

Illinois Wrestling Freestyle State Championship Recap

The University of Illinois Armory played host to the annual Illinois State Freestyle Championship over the weekend, bringing in top talent from around the state to Illinois USAWChampaign, IL.

Here’s a look at the entire schoolboy division:

Brody Norman of Junior Illini Wrestling Club bookended his title run with 12-6 decisions, and sandwiched between those two decisions were two straight shutout technical falls. Jacob Randolph of Celtic Elite finished second, followed by Reginald Allen of Junior Illini Wrestling Club.

Dylan Ragusin of Izzy Style Wrestling used two pinfalls and three technical falls en route to the 77-pound state title. Kaleb Thompson of Beebe Trained came in finish second, followed by Christian Goin of TJ Trained.

Joshua Ogunsanya of Harvey Twisters Wrestling Club, a Freestyle and Greco-Roman state champ last year, went 8-0 over the weekend to capture the 84-pound state title. Trevor Chumbley of Team Overtime won seven straight matches over the weekend and scored a second-place finish. Reece Heller of Izzy Style Wrestling finished in third.

Moises Rivera of Waukegan Youth Wrestling Club won the 91-pound title thanks to an 8-0 record this weekend, including two falls and three technical falls. Nathan Cummings of Gomez Wrestling Academy finished second, followed by James Pierandozzi of Beebe Trained.

Juan Bazaldua of Martinez Fox Valley Elite was quite impressive over the weekend, taking home the 98-pound state title after shutting out seven of his eight opponents. Ben Emery of Celtic Elite finished second, and Zachary McDowell of Celtic Elite came in third.

Will Lewan of Izzy Style Wrestling defeated Jacob Dado of Junior Porters Wrestling Club with an 11-1 technical fall in their championship bout. Maxwell Kristoff of Quest finished third.

Markus Hartman of Team Overtime clinched the 112-pound state title with a 16-4 technical fall in his finals matchup against Abe Assad of Gomez Wrestling Academy. Fidel Mayora of Izzy Style Wrestling came in third.

En route to the 120-pound title, Baylor Fernandes of Junior Porters Wrestling Club shutout three of his opponents, including a 10-0 technical fall over Anthony Burburija of Headlock Wrestling Academy in their championship bout. Dalton Jensen of TVL Wrestling Club finished third.

Danny Braunagel of Quest scored one fall and three technical falls during his title run over the weekend. Kolbi Caffey of Carbondale Wrestling Club came in second, followed by BJ Bailey of Harvey Twisters Wrestling Club.

Samuel Durfey of Alpha Wrestling Academy pinned four of his five opponents over the weekend to win the 136-pound title. He clinched the championship by pinning Trey Piotrowski of Team Overtime in their finals matchup. John Hirsch of Granite City Wrestling Club came in third.

Drew Hoselton of Prairie Central Hawks Wrestling pinned Jackson Punzel of ISI School of Wrestling in their championship bout to take home the 144-pound title. Zachary Braunagel of Quest finished third.

Dan Beniot of FIT scored an 8-6 decision over Yousif Salah of Team Overtime in their championship match. Tyler Guerrero of Martinez Fox Valley Elite came in third.

Nate Jimenez of Team Overtime was impressive over the weekend, pinning two of his opponents and scoring a 10-0 technical fall against his other. He was the state Greco-Roman and kids folkstyle champ last year, as well. Izzy Fox of Evanston School of Wrestling came in second, followed by Adolfo Angel Carpio of Team Poeta.

Tyler Surges of SCN Youth Wrestling Club used a pinfall and a 10-0 technical fall to capture the 175-pound state title. Michael Stodola of Suburban Sprawl finished second, and Benton Freeseman of Junior Illini Wrestling Club came in third.

Jace Punke of Let Get Weird Wrestling Club won the two-person 190-pound state title by beating Cory Goetz of Wheaton North Falcons both times they wrestled. Punke won both matches via shutout technical falls.

Taylor Fleetwood of River Bend Wrestling Club pinned Mounes Betancourt of Harvey Twisters Wrestling Club both times they faced off to win the two-person 210-pound weight class.

Ronald Tucker Jr. of Beebe Trained, a two-time state champ already, won the 265-pound title as the only competitor in the weight class. 

Written by: Adam Littman 


Speak with a Youth1 Recruiting Counselor

Youth1’s Recruiting Counselors are on a mission to educate you on the recruiting process - one that's very competitive and starts early. Let us provide guidance through the most important decisions that shape your athlete's journey in sports.

Learn how to become a recruitable student-athlete, find out what colleges you match best with, and get the ability to message college coaches directly with a specialized recruiting package. 

Don't wait, schedule a time to speak with a Youth1 Recruiting Counselor. It's FREE! Just fill out the following information and then select a date and time in the form below. 



This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.